RIP Michael Flynn

In a loss to science fiction and to the world, the great Michael Flynn has died.

My interactions were few. He actually originally agreed to write a story for “God, Robot”, but unfortunately dropped out for reasons he kept vague, which is a real shame.

To what I can only describe as my embarrassment and shame, I wondered in the back of my mind at the time at the time and wonder now if it was due to some petty comments section spat I was having with him. He never said this, and I might be overthinking this. I also do not remember what the argument was about.

The only thing I can say for sure is that he was gracious, humble, and erudite. I say this with confidence despite not remembering the discussion because, as can be plainly seen by reading him…well…anywhere on the internet, that is quite simply how he always acted, whereas I was and am a pompous ass, quick to lose my temper, hasty in judgment, and foolish. If my words drove him out of the book, it was a colossal mistake on my part and mine alone.

Or maybe I’m still being arrogant and he was just busy. Who’s to say?

I say this also with some regret to the fact that, without giving my precise location away, Michael Flynn lived quite nearby to me. Easton, PA in his lifetime underwent multiple booms and busts but I am happy to report that by his death it was in fact in the middle of something of a renaissance. I am glad he lived to see it.

“Eifelheim” is an excellent book and you should all read it, btw.

RIP, Sir. Sorry for being an ass.

2 thoughts on “RIP Michael Flynn

  1. Eifelheim was a superb book. One of the few books (especially in the science fiction field) set in the medieval era not written by an idiot. 

    I think you worry too much about your personal effect. I had a number of interactions with him and read everything he left on Mr. Wright’s site, including some conversations he was treated rather badly by a not to be named former interlocutor. He never once lost composure or took umbrage. 

    Rather I think he made a general withdraw from the rancor that has become discourse all over. I had even a month or two ago looked on his blog to see what had happened to him since he hadn’t commented in a long while. As for the book, it is mere speculation on your part, you cannot know his motives. 

    May he rest in peace.

    Like

Leave a comment